Why We Run Part II

Jimmy, Running

During one visit to my mother in law’s house, Jimmy (who was about 4 at the time) was playing outside in the rain with my sister-in law, Andrea (Auntie Drea).  She was sitting on the front steps and Jimmy just…took off.  She came inside and told me that he ran up to the corner of the street and then took off running up State Street.

At first, I was like “Oh, okay.”  Then she said, no, you’ll have to get in your car to catch him.

And we did.

It was a grueling, nerve racking 5-10 minutes where I had to first find him, then dealt with traffic NOT letting me over to the right hand lane (little road rage surfacing, but understandably so on my part!), and then had to pull into the next block up to have Andrea jump out and yell “JIMMY!”  to stop him.

He was wet, still running, and said something like “Hi Mommy!”  like he was proud of what he was doing.

He ran a total of 9 blocks, in the pouring rain, with lots of traffic–State Street in Olean, NY is a busy street.  At least two of those streets had stop lights.

This is the first of many such flights of fancy, and if I keep sharing them, I remember the next one and can’t believe that I would be so lucky not to have Jimmy snatched away from me, so I’ll stop here.

Leave a Reply

